Steering Committee on Modernization of Price Review Process Guidelines

The PMPRB is consulting with its stakeholders on changes to its non-binding guidelines (the “Guidelines”), as contemplated by subsection 96(4) of the Patent Act. The purpose of these changes is to modernize the PMPRB’s approach to carrying out its mandate to protect Canadian consumers from excessive patented drug prices. Two main types of changes are considered. The first type would operationalize Health Canada’s proposed amendments to the Patented Medicines Regulations in order to make patented drugs more affordable for Canadians. The second would enable the PMPRB to make more efficient use of its resources by adopting a risk-based approach to how it regulates drug prices that simplifies and streamlines compliance for patentees.

In order to do this, the PMPRB will be establishing a multi-stakeholder Steering Committee, which will meet for the first time in June 2018, in order to discuss aspects of the new regime and assist the PMPRB in synthesizing stakeholder views on key technical and operational modalities of new draft Guidelines that would give effect to these changes. This work will be based in part on the analysis and recommendations of a technical Working Group which will examine certain issues that the Steering Committee believes would benefit from the review of experts in health technology assessment and other economic and scientific matters.

A report of the Steering Committee’s deliberations will be produced by PMPRB staff and considered by the Board prior to the publication of new draft Guidelines for broader stakeholder consultation in fall 2018.

Any analysis or recommendations emanating from the Working Group’s review or from the Steering Committee’s deliberations will not be binding on the Board.

Below you will find reference materials from the Steering Committee’s meetings:

  1. June 25 Steering Committee meeting
Date modified:

Comité directeur sur les Lignes directrices visant la modernisation du processus d’examen du prix

Le CEPMB consulte ses intervenants à propos des modifications apportées à ses Lignes directrices à caractère non obligatoire (les « Lignes directrices »), comme envisagé au paragraphe 96(4) de la Loi sur les brevets. Ces modifications visent à moderniser l’approche du CEPMB dans l’exécution de son mandat de protéger les consommateurs canadiens contre la vente de médicaments brevetés à des prix excessifs. Deux principaux types de modifications sont envisagés. Le premier type mettrait en application les modifications au Règlement sur les médicaments brevetés proposées par Santé Canada afin de rendre ceux-ci plus abordables pour les Canadiens. Le deuxième permettrait au CEPMB d’utiliser plus efficacement ses ressources en recourant à une approche de la réglementation du prix des médicaments fondée sur les risques qui simplifie le processus de conformité pour les titulaires de brevets.

À cette fin, le CEPMB mettra sur pied un comité directeur multi-intervenants, qui tiendra sa première réunion en juin 2018, afin de discuter des éléments du nouveau régime et d’aider le CEPMB à faire la synthèse des points de vue des intervenants au sujet des aspects techniques et opérationnels des nouvelles Lignes directrices qui feraient entrer en vigueur ces changements. Ce travail sera fondé en partie sur l’analyse et les recommandations d’un groupe de travail technique qui examinera certains enjeux qui, selon le comité directeur, mériteraient d’être étudiés davantage par des experts de l’évaluation de la technologie de la santé et d’autres domaines économiques et scientifiques.

Un rapport sur les délibérations du comité directeur sera produit par le personnel du CEPMB et sera examiné par le Conseil avant la publication de l’ébauche des nouvelles Lignes directrices pour une consultation élargie par les intervenants à l’automne 2018.

Le Conseil ne sera pas lié par l’analyse et les recommandations découlant de l’examen du groupe de travail ou des délibérations du comité directeur.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des documents de référence pour les réunions du comité directeur :

Date de modification :