Dispensing Fee Policies in Public Drug Plans, 2016/17

This reference document provides a summary of dispensing fee reimbursement in 2016/17 for the public drug plans participating in the NPDUIS initiative, as detailed in the Plan Information Document published by the Canadian Institute for Health Information.Footnote 1

British Columbia

The maximum allowable dispensing fee is $10.00. No dispensing fee is reimbursed for insulins or needles and syringes for insulin therapy. Other reimbursements include pharmacies providing services to long-term care facilities, which receive $43.75 per bed serviced. A rural incentive program provides a per claim subsidy ($3.00 to $10.50) to rural pharmacies with monthly claims volumes of less than 1,700. A vaccination administration program reimburses pharmacies $10.00 for each publicly funded vaccination administered by an authorized pharmacist.

Alberta

A four-year agreement between the Alberta Pharmacists’ Association, Alberta Blue Cross and the Alberta government was implemented on April 1, 2014. The agreement introduced one dispensing fee of $12.30 for each prescription, except for compounded prescriptions or diabetic supplies. This one fee applies from April 1, 2014, to March 31, 2018. All injectables, oral contraceptives and insulin medications follow this dispensing fee model.

Saskatchewan

On September 1, 2015, the maximum dispensing fee increased from $11.25 to $11.40. An additional reimbursement is provided for influenza immunization, trial prescriptions, methadone, compliance packaging and compounding drugs.

Manitoba

Pharmacy service providers are compensated by a market-based professional fee. The dispensing fee or professional fee is an all-inclusive fee that reimburses the direct and indirect costs associated with dispensing, distribution and cognitive service functions, including patient counseling and profit.

Dispensing fees are regulated under the Prescription Drugs Payment of Benefits Regulation, which defines the professional fee as “the amount regularly charged by a pharmacist to persons who are responsible for paying the fee without reimbursement”. This regulation ensures that pharmacy service providers establish a consistent market-based fee for which cash paying customers are provided equivalent services to that of Pharmacare beneficiaries.

Other reimbursements include a maximum dispensing fee of $6.95 for the Employment and Income Assistance Program. For personal care homes, pharmacists are reimbursed $37.50 per bed per month in Winnipeg and $38.20 per bed per month for rural areas.

Ontario

The dispensing fee payable to most pharmacies is $8.83 for each Ontario Drug Benefit (OBD) prescription filled. Some pharmacies in rural and remote areas may charge higher dispensing fees as their operating costs are higher. The table below outlines those higher fees and where they apply:

blank
Distance to Pharmacy Dispensing Fee
Only one pharmacy within 5 km $9.93
Within 5 to 10 km $9.93
Within 10 to 25 km $12.14
No other pharmacies within 25 km $13.25
Source: http://www.health.gov.on.ca/en/public/programs/drugs/programs/odb/opdp_dispensing_fees.aspx

As of October 1, 2015, all dispensing fees for claims for residents of long-term care homes were reduced by $1.26 and now range from $7.57 to $11.99.

Beginning October 1, 2015, pharmacists are encouraged to provide ODB recipients with a 100-day supply of most chronic-use medications. Pharmacies are entitled to receive a maximum of five dispensing fees per 365-day period, beginning with the first dispensing transaction for identified chronic-use medications. ODB recipients who are deemed to require more frequent dispensing need to be assessed regularly to verify an ongoing need. For example, a patient on a complex medication regimen may require assistance for a short period of time in order to learn to manage their medications as directed, but once stabilized may be capable of managing 100 days’ supply.

New Brunswick

The dispensing fees for eligible claims are shown in the table below:

blank
Drug category Dispensing fee
Drugs on the Manufacturer List Price (MLP) list  Up to $11.00
Drugs on the Maximum Allowable Price (MAP) list Up to $11.00
Extemporaneous preparations (compounds) Up to $16.50
Methadone for chronic pain Up to $11.00
Drugs for opioid dependence (e.g., methadone, buprenorphine/naloxone) Up to $9.50

A rural pharmacy incentive pays an additional $2.00 for the first 10,000 prescriptions filled in a fiscal year. This incentive applies to pharmacies that are the only pharmacy in a community and are 25 km or more from the next nearest pharmacy.

Nova Scotia

Effective April 1, 2016, dispensing fees increased from $11.65 to $11.75 for ostomy supplies, from $17.47 to $17.62 for compounded extemporaneous products (excluding methadone and injectables), and from $11.65 to $11.75 for all other prescriptions (including methadone).

Prince Edward Island

The maximum reimbursable professional fee is $12.36, and the extemporaneous fee is $18.54. The private nursing home capitation fee is $76.52.

Newfoundland and Labrador

The dispensing fees for eligible claims are shown in the table below:

Plan Drug Cost Dispensing Fee
The Access Plan,
The Assurance Plan and
The Foundation Plan
$0.00–$49.99 $11.96
$50.00–$249.99 $23.93
$250.00 + $50.00
The 65Plus Plan $0.00–$249.99 $12.00
$250.00 + $40.00

Yukon

There is an allowable professional fee of up to $8.75.

NIHB

Pharmacy reimbursement, which includes dispensing fees, was determined by the NIHB or negotiated between the NIHB and pharmacists’ associations, and differed by province.

Date modified:

Politiques sur les frais d’exécution dans les régimes publics d’assurance-médicaments, 2016-2017

PDF - 128 ko

Ce document de référence présente un résumé du remboursement des frais d’exécution en 2016-2017 des régimes publics d’assurance-médicaments qui participent au SNIUMP, comme le détaille le Document d’information sur les régimes produit par l’Institut canadien d’information sur la santé.Note de bas de page 1

Colombie-Britannique

Les frais d’exécution maximum autorisés sont de 10 $. Les frais d’exécution ne sont pas remboursés pour l’insuline ou les aiguilles et les seringues pour l’insulinothérapie. Les autres remboursements comprennent les honoraires des pharmaciens qui fournissent des services aux établissements de soins de longue durée, qui touchent 43,75 $ par lit bénéficiant du service. Un programme incitatif rural fournit une subvention par demande de remboursement (3 $ à 10,50 $) aux pharmacies rurales dont le volume de demandes est inférieur à 1 700 demandes mensuelles. Un programme de vaccination rembourse les pharmacies d’un montant de 10 $ pour chaque vaccin financé par l’État administré par un pharmacien autorisé.

Alberta

Le 1er avril 2014, la Alberta Pharmacists’ Association, Alberta Blue Cross et le gouvernement de l’Alberta ont conclu une entente pour une durée de quatre ans. En vertu de l’entente, les frais d’exécution s’élèvent à 12,30 $ par ordonnance, sauf les prescriptions composées et les fournitures pour diabétiques. Ce tarif unique demeure en vigueur du 1er avril 2014 au 31 mars 2018. Les produits injectables, les contraceptifs oraux et les médicaments à base d'insuline se conforment à ce modèle de frais d’exécution.

Saskatchewan

Le 1er septembre 2015, les frais d’exécutions maximum sont passés de 11,25 $ à 11,40 $. Un remboursement supplémentaire est versé pour la vaccination contre la grippe, les ordonnances à l’essai, la méthadone, l’emballage de conformité et les médicaments composés.

Manitoba

Les fournisseurs de services de pharmacie reçoivent des honoraires professionnels en fonction du marché. Les frais d’exécution ou les honoraires professionnels sont des frais tous compris remboursant les coûts directs et indirects afférents aux fonctions d’exécution, de délivrance et de services cognitifs, y compris les conseils aux patients et les profits.

Les frais d’exécution sont réglementés en vertu du Règlement sur le paiement de prestations pour les médicaments sur ordonnance, qui définit les honoraires professionnels comme suit : « montant que demande normalement le pharmacien aux personnes qui doivent assumer le paiement des honoraires sans obtenir un remboursement ». Ce règlement garantit que les fournisseurs de services de pharmacie établissent des frais uniformes, en fonction du marché, pour lesquels les clients qui paient comptant reçoivent des services équivalents à ceux des bénéficiaires du Régime d’assurance-médicaments.

Les autres remboursements comprennent des frais d’exécution maximum de 6,95 $ pour le programme d’aide à l’emploi et au revenu. Pour les centres de soins personnels, les pharmaciens reçoivent un remboursement de 37,50 $ par lit et par mois à Winnipeg et de 38,20 $ par lit et par mois en région rurale.

Ontario

Les frais d’exécution exigibles dans la plupart des pharmacies sont de 8,83 $ pour chaque ordonnance exécutée dans le cadre du Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario (PMO). Certaines pharmacies en régions rurales et éloignées peuvent facturer des frais d’exécution plus élevés parce que leurs coûts de fonctionnement sont plus élevés. Le tableau présente ces frais plus élevés et leurs conditions d’application.

blanc
Distance de la pharmacie Frais d’exécution
Il n’y a qu’une pharmacie dans un rayon de 5 km. 9,93 $
La pharmacie la plus proche se trouve dans un rayon de 5 à 10 km. 9,93 $
La pharmacie la plus proche se trouve dans un rayon de 10 à 25 km. 12,14 $
Il n’y a pas d’autres pharmacies dans un rayon de 25 km. 13,25 $
Source: http://www.health.gov.on.ca/fr/public/programs/drugs/programs/odb/opdp_dispensing_fees.aspx

À compter du 1er octobre 2015, tous les frais d’exécution pour les demandes concernant des résidents de foyers de longue durée ont été réduits de 1,26 $ et s’établissent maintenant entre 7,57 $ et 11,99 $.

Depuis le 1er octobre 2015, les pharmaciens sont encouragés à fournir aux bénéficiaires du PMO un approvisionnement de 100 jours de la plupart des médicaments utilisés pour les maladies chroniques. Les pharmacies ont droit à un maximum de cinq (5) honoraires d’exécution durant une période de 365 jours, à compter de la première exécution d’ordonnance d’un médicament répertorié pour traiter une maladie chronique. Les bénéficiaires du PMO dont on juge qu’ils ont besoin d’une distribution plus fréquente doivent être évalués régulièrement afin de confirmer le besoin continu. Par exemple, un patient qui suit un traitement médical complexe peut avoir besoin d’aide pour une courte période de temps, pour apprendre à gérer ses médicaments de la manière prescrite, mais, une fois qu’il est stabilisé, être capable de gérer un approvisionnement pour 100 jours.

Nouveau-Brunswick

Tableau des frais d’exécution pour les demandes admissibles :

blanc
Médicaments sur la liste de prix courant du fabricant Jusqu’à 11 $
Médicaments sur la liste de prix admissible maximum Jusqu’à 11 $
Préparations magistrales (composés) Jusqu’à 16,50 $
Méthadone pour la douleur chronique Jusqu’à 11 $
Médicaments pour le traitement d’une dépendance aux opioïdes (méthadone, buprénorphine/naloxone) Jusqu’à 9,50 $

Dans le cadre d’un incitatif pour les pharmacies rurales, un montant de 2 $ supplémentaire est versé pour les 10 000 premières ordonnances exécutées pendant un exercice. Cet incitatif s’applique aux pharmacies qui sont la seule pharmacie dans une collectivité et qui sont éloignées de 25 km ou plus de la pharmacie la plus près.

Nouvelle-Écosse

À compter du 1er avril 2016, les frais d’exécution sont passés de à 11,65 $ à 11,75 $ pour les fournitures de stomie, de 17,47 $ à 17,62 $ pour les produits composés magistraux (sauf la méthadone et les médicaments injectables) et de 11,65 $ à 11,75 $pour toutes les autres ordonnances (y compris la méthadone).

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Les honoraires professionnels maximum remboursables sont de 12,36 $ et les frais pour les préparations magistrales sont de 18,54 $. Les honoraires fixés par résident de centre de soins privé sont de 76,52 $.

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Tableau des frais d’exécution pour les demandes admissibles :

blanc
  Coût du médicament Frais d’exécution
Access Plan
Assurance Plan
et Foundation Plan
0 $ à 49,99 $ 11,96 $
50 $ à 249,99 $ 23,93 $
250 $ + 50,00 $
65Plus Plan 0 $ à 249,99 $ 12,00 $
250 $ + 40,00 $

Yukon

Les honoraires professionnels maximum remboursables sont de 8,75 $.

SSNA

Le remboursement des pharmacies, qui comprennent les frais d’exécution, était déterminé par le Programme des SSNA ou négocié entre le Programme des SSNA et les associations de pharmaciens et variait d’une province à l’autre.

Date de modification :